

Minutes of the 34 Academic Council (AC) meeting held on 29 December 2021.

The 34th Meeting of the Academic Council (AC) was held online through MS-Teams on 29 December 2021 and the following members were present in the meeting:

1. Dr. Rupamanjari Ghosh	Vice-Chancellor - Chairperson	
2. Dr. Rajat Kathuria	Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SoHSS)	
3. Dr. Sandeep Sen	Dean, School of Engineering (SoE); Senior Professor, Computer Science & Engineering	
4. Dr. Suneet Tuli	Dean, Research & Partnerships, Professor, Electrical Engineering	
5. Dr. Amber Habib	Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics, SoNS	
6. Dr. Sankar Dhar	Professor & Head, Department of Physics, SoNS	
7. Dr. Sambudha Sen	Professor & Head, Department of English, SoHSS	
8. Dr. Harpreet Singh	Associate Professor & Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering, SoE	
9. Dr. Ghanshyam Pal	Associate Professor & Head, Department of Civil Engineering, SoE	
10. Maj. Gen. G. Jaishankar ·	Director, Student Affairs	
11. Dr. Dinkar Prasad	Professor & Head, Department of Electrical Engineering, SoE	
12. Dr. Parthapratim Munshi	Professor & Head, Department of Chemistry, SoNS	
13. Dr. Rajeev Kumar Singh -	· (Special Invitee), Associate Dean (Academics), Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, SoE)	
14. Mr. Sudhir Naudiyal	Registrar-Non- Member Secretary	
The following AC members did not attend the meeting due to their other engagements and some members have given their approval in response to the approval by circulation.		
1. Col. Gopal Karunakaran (Retd.) -Executive Director		
2. Dr. Bibek Banerjee	-Dean, School of Management and Entrepreneurship, SoME; Dean, Academy of Continuing Education; Director, Strategic Planning	

3. Dr. Ajay Dandekar -Chairperson, Center for Public Affairs and Critical Theory (C-PACT)



4. Dr. Sanjeev Galande	-Dean, School of Natural Sciences, SoNS
5. Dr. J.P. Gupta	-Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, SoE
6. Dr. Saroj Kaushik	-Distinguished Professor& Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, SoE
7. Prof. Shahid Jamal	-Professor & Head, Department of Communication, SoHSS
8. Dr. Jaya Menon	-Professor & Head, Department of History, SoHSS
9. Prof. Yasmeen Arif	-Professor & Head, Department of Sociology, SoHSS
10. Dr. Partha Chatterjee	-Professor & Head, Department of Economics, SoHSS
11. Dr. Shibashis Chatterjee	-Professor & Head, Department of International Relations and Governance Studies, SoHSS
12. Prof. Atul Bhalla	-Professor & Head, Department of Art & Performing Arts, SoHSS

Item No. 1 Confirmation of the minutes of the 33rd meeting of the Academic Council held on 11 September 2021

The Registrar informed that the minutes of the 33rd Academic Council meeting held on 11 September 2021 were circulated to the members. Since no comments were received, he requested the Chairperson to approve the minutes. The AC then approved the minutes. The minutes as approved by the AC are attached at Annexure-1.

Item No. 2 To report matters arising out of the minutes of the 33rd AC meeting held on 11 September 2021 and action taken thereof on matters that needed action:

Item No.33.16: To discuss and approve the proposal to Change in Residence requirement clause for Part-Time Ph.D. students

The change in Residence requirement clause for Part-Time and Full Time Ph.D. Students was discussed in the 33^{rd} AC meeting. The Chairperson suggested to have a comprehensive review of Ph.D. regulations for full-time and part-time students.

Dr. Karthik Krishnan, Associate Dean-Research, informed the AC that changing residential requirement for Part-Time Ph.D. students is part of the proposed comprehensive review of Ph.D. regulations which is under process and will be tabled in the next AC meeting.



Item No.3 To report approval by circulation, dated 23 December 2021, seeking approval of AC members for introduction of B.Tech. Electrical and Computer Engineering program

The Chairperson informed the members that this meeting is mainly called up to clarify certain points raised by some of the AC members in response to the circulation dated 23 December 2021, seeking approval to introduce the new program 'B.Tech. in Electrical and Computer Engineering'. While briefing about the proposed program 'B.Tech. in Electrical and Computer Engineering', the Chairperson mentioned that the proposed program is a combination of existing B.Tech. Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE) and Electronics and Communication Engineering (ECE) that has been re-structured to this new program. She invited Dr. Dinkar Prasad to present the proposal.

Dr. Dinkar Prasad has given a detailed presentation on the proposed B.Tech. Program in "Electrical and Computer Engineering", the rationale behind the proposed change, the difference between the curriculum of existing CSE program with the Proposed ECE program, the specialization etc. The name of the department will remain as Department of Electrical Engineering. He said that the proposed program has been designed to impart essential concepts of both electrical and computer engineering subjects to undergraduate students, to make them better prepared to tackle the upcoming technological challenges. Skill development, job readiness, and use of latest hardware and software analysis tools are the key features of this program. This program rightly addresses the emerging trend in industry and research in which knowledge of computer engineering becomes essential for electrical engineers.

After a detailed discussion, the members endorsed the proposal. The chairperson congratulated the efforts made by the department for bringing this much awaited reform and directed them to work out as what would be the typical structure for the students of other departments and for the students of the same department who take it as a 'minor'. She directed the Registrar to get the viability report ready for further approval by the Executive Council.

Any other item with the permission of the Chair

As there were no other items to be discussed, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

Dr. Rupamanjari Ghosh Chairperson, Academic Council